Movie Titles And Imagery

I hear a word and the first think I remember is some scene from a movie.
The first reason someone somewhere decided to make a movie using that word as the title. The second reason I watched it.
Now when I hear the word somewhere I always remember something from the movie first even though the actual meaning is in my head.  It can be a bit of problem sometimes, like when giving some exam. Most entrance level exams have an English paper with a vocabulary part. I can’t really write “Blue people with tails” when they ask meaning of Avatar, even though that is the first thing I remember. Add to that the fact the my mind has a tendency to wander. So I think of blue people with tails, then I would start thinking about the planet created by James Cameroon, then flying, etc,etc. You can see how that can be a problem right?

images

Here are some examples of words that pull up images in my head:

Serendipity
Actual Meaning: The occurrence of events by chance in a happy way.
What I remember: John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale finding each other at the end of the movie.

Insidious
Actual Meaning:Proceeding in a gradual, subtle way, but with harmful effects.
What I remember: Ghosts/spirits/demons waiting to take over your body when you sleep.

Inception
Actual meaning: Starting point of something; the beginning.
What I remember: Leonardo DiCaprio and/or creating dream worlds.

Madagascar
What I remember: The lemur singing “I like to move it, move it”.

Ghosts/demons,etc
What I remember: Linda Blair as Regan after she got possessed in The Exorcist.

Hostel
Actual meaning: Establishment that provides  food and lodging.
What I remember: People getting tortured.

Avatar
Actual meaning: An incarnation, embodiment, or manifestation of a person or idea.
What I remember: Blue people with tails!

Is it just me or are there others out there who do this?

Leave a Reply

