Warm Bodies

Okay so first they turn vampires and werewolves into boyfriend material but who in their right mind would have thought zombies can someday take the title?? Isaac Marion does just that in his novel( and movie).Someone on GoodReads suggested I read this and I decided to give it a try. After The Walking Dead I prefer to give all zombie novels/movies a try.marion_warmbodies_uk

Warm Bodies is narrated by R, a zombie with very vivid and detailed thoughts for, well, a zombie. R lives in an airport with a lot of other zombies,calls a 747 his home, going out to the city when the want food. The world has been over run by zombies but there are still a few humans left(for them to feed on). The zombies gets a more human persona in this novel because they can almost talk and have something similar to emotions. Ohh and yes they even have some sort of religion! The main thought and character remains the same as that of the other zombie’s we have seen through out the years i.e hunger and eating humans. Neither R nor the other zombies have no memories of anything before they turned but can view the memories belonging to someone else when they eat that persons brain. Eww, right?!

R and his best friend M along with others come across a group of humans while out looking for food(a.k.a humans). That’s where R meets Julie and falls in love with her. Weird or what? Zombie falling in love! R gets to know Julie in depth and detail because he eats her human boyfriend’s brain. R keeps Julie safe and takes her back to the humans and later follows her there.

Some of the zombies, including R, start turning more human like and attract the wrath of the bad guys. The bad guys are zombies too but so far gone that they don’t have anything left except bones and hence called bonies. Okay so I guess I’ll stop there for the sake of those who want to read or watch the movie.

It’s a good novel.Haven’t watched the movie yet ;will post an update on this page itself when I do. Its worth reading. A new idea and written very well.The novel was intended to be a comedy and romance and it does deliver both.

My Rating : 3.5 out of 5

 

UPDATE:  For the post about the movie click here.

Trailer for the movie:

10 comments on “Warm Bodies

  1. Hope says:

    Funny you wrote about it. My husband and I watched it last night. I am not into the whole zombie maddness, he loves it. So I had rented a chick flick for me and this for him, we laughed throughout because he said, this is a total zombie chick flick. It was much better than I thought, though the whole eating brains still turns my tummy.

  2. teannadorsey says:

    I haven’t read the book but maybe after reading this I will give it a try. Honestly I thought the story line was a little ridiculous. I haven’t seen the movie either but now I’m curious.

  3. Olivia says:

    I’ve seen the trailer for this a few times and feel like it might just be another ridiculous Twilight-esque spinoff, but let us know how the movie is if you do see it!

  4. Andrew Plait says:

    A friend of mine that saw the movie said it was a lot like Romeo and Juliet, except with zombies! I totally got it after describing the plot. Good modern update of Shakespeare.

Leave a Reply

