City Of Bones(The Mortal Instruments #1)

This book was published in  2007, many of you might have already read it and with the movie releasing this year many more will be interested in reading the series if they haven’t read it yet.200px-City_of_Bones

City of Bones is the first book in the The Mortal Instruments series written by Cassandra Clare. It is a young adult, fantasy novel dealing with demons and demon hunters. To tell the truth I wasn’t that interested in reading the book but being me I  wanted to give it a try before watching the movie.

For those whose like this genre it will be a great book and for the others not so much. I found some parts interesting and others plain boring.The author has really good imagination, that’s for sure. The theme is that of another world hidden in plain view in our own much like Harry Potter. There are Warlocks, vampires, werewolves,magic,demons and demon hunters ( known as Shadow Hunters who are part human ,part angels), living in our own world without us even knowing. The name for normal human beings is mundanes. This too seems like an idea drawn from Harry Potter, remember the word “muggles”, right? The similarities end here, the plot is entirely different. It is another good vs. evil story but plot for each one is different right so not counting it a s a similarity.

The novel follows Clary Fray, a fifteen year old who gets involved in the world of Shadow hunters. While out in a club with a friend she seems a trio killing what she believes to be a human. The trio turn to be Shadow hunters, who are not supposed to be visible to normal humans but her being able to see them raises the curiosity of one of the Shadowhunters named Jace. Later Clary finds out that her mother has disappeared and is attacked by a demon. The rest of the story is about Clary learning more about the other world and she finds out that her family and past may not be the way she actually thought it to be. There is more in the story than this. So it’s not exactly a spoiler.

There is suspense, a little action and twists(one twist in particular is a really unexpected),those are the parts I liked about the novel. The movie might be better than the book because I think it’s one of those story which would have more effect when seen and not read. The trailer looks promising, I’m hoping it will live up to the hype.

My Rating : 2/5

 

5 comments on “City Of Bones(The Mortal Instruments #1)

  1. masterwaddle says:

    I enjoy your blog so I nominated you for an award
    http://wp.me/p3BmFK-tB

  2. Sonel says:

    I love movies about Warlocks, vampires, werewolves,magic,demons and demon hunters and still watching the series of Supernatural. 😉 The trailer looks promising indeed and I am sure it’s going to be a great movie. I can’t wait for it to come out. Thanks for sharing. 😀

    • There are some great movies and tv shows in that genre. I too love Supernatural.
      Will wait and see if the movie lives up to expectations. 🙂

      • Sonel says:

        Absolutely and I’ve seen most of them but Charmed and Supernatural are my favourites. 😀

        I am sure it will. 😀

Leave a Reply

