Don’t Judge A product By It’s Cover

Don’t ever judge a product by it’s cover.
The marketing people score again. They take photos of beautiful, tasty looking dishes and lure you in. It’s easy and tastes great they say. The optimist in you makes you buy them believing that what you cook is going to look and taste just as spectacular. I fell for it. I’m only human and like most humans follow the wishes of my stomach more than listening to my head.
I bought a packet of easy-to-make veggie cutlets. All I had to do is follow the five simple steps to make the dough,let it rest,make the batter,dip it in crumbs and deep fry. So simple! I am addicted to trying out such packets. An easy to make snack in case of hunger related emergencies or when you savor the taste something that tastes so good that you ignore the effects on your health. So far I’ve had more hits than misses with such packaged foods.

The one I picked up yesterday cost a little bit more than I would have liked but against all warning signals in my head I picked it up. It looked great on the cover and just 5 simple steps to make a superb snack. The picture on the cover made it look soo yummy!

Guessed it yet?? It turned out to be a disaster!!The yummy looking dish on the cover was either A) Not made using the contents in the packet or B) Good photography.  It tasted terrible.Despite all my efforts the end product had insides that ranged somewhere between cooked to burned.

I made it in batches of two because I had to first figure out how much time they needed. The packet had no details on cooking time. Probably because they cant get it right either.

The first batch tasted too raw.For the second batch the outer area was crisp but inside still raw. In the third batch the outer area got to a point just before burned and insides turned to oily mush. The forth batch didn’t even make it to the frying pan, I just threw them in the dustbin.Tried controlling the heat of the oil, the thickness of each piece and still nothing.

In the end, I was left hungry and angry while I  questioned my cooking abilities.

Every single one of them was bad. It took 1/4 of a tic-tac pack to get the taste of the (supposed-to-be) vegetable cutlet mush, out of my mouth.

All in all, bad day in the kitchen.I’m not giving up on such products, will continue experimenting with these but it might take a while to recover from this disaster.

I think I’ll stick to cooking cutlets from scratch. Takes a little more time but atleast they taste good!

3 comments on “Don’t Judge A product By It’s Cover

  1. I have that problem. My food tastes like the dog’s dinner. Gross. I once grilled frozen meat, I was nauseous for 2 days.

Leave a Reply

