The Other Love

Daily Prompt for the day asks photographers to show something on the topic “OTHER”. I wont say I qualify as a photographer yet, but I do love taking photos and sharing them here so going along with that idea for the prompt.

Other than writing and photography, another field I have interest in is music.

When I turned 19 I went a little crazy and decided I have the patience and skill to learn to play an instrument. Though the one I love the most is violin I bought a guitar instead figuring I’ll start with that. My dad told me not to because I have a habit of starting things and then leaving them mid way.
I bought it anyway and had every intention of proving him wrong. I played on and off for a year, learned the basic chords but just like most other “projects” of mine I left it. Now I just pick it up once in a while but those occasions are becoming rarer and rarer. In the end, it looks like I just gave my dad a reason to say “I told you so” (which he loves to do!) and smirk whenever he sees the guitar.

Looks a little sad doesn't he??

Looks a little sad doesn’t he??

21 comments on “The Other Love

  1. K. Jean King says:

    I had a similar experience with a guitar. I played the viola (terribly) and the tuba (a little bit better than terribly, but still not very well). But the guitar? Not so much.

  2. Is it out somewhere where you can see it? I find if something is staring at me I have a harder time avoiding it…sometimes I just put it in the closet because I don’t want to play. : ) I play a little bit, took a break and am planning to start up again. Hopefully.

    • I keep moving it around. It used to sit in a place that I could see but I ended up moving it somewhere else so that I don’t have to. 🙂
      Lol, that’s what I told my dad when I stopped playing,that I was taking a break 😉
      Hope your plans work out so you can start playing again.

  3. I tried so hard to learn the guitar. I think that is why ghostwriting suits me so much, I change personas sometimes three times a day.

  4. Sonel says:

    What a lovely guitar indeed G and oh well, us parents will always say things like that. LOL! Point is that you wanted to do it, you did and just because you don’t play anymore might just mean that it’s not stimulating enough for you or maybe it’s just not what interest you that much that you will keep on doing it. Just do what you love doing. Maybe one day it will come back and you will pick up that beautiful guitar and even compose some songs. 😀

  5. I did the same exact thing… I find myself using it in different moods that I’m in but writing and playing always helps… It’s something you will always have to fall back on for sure! Don’t give up

    • I too find writing helpful. Playing right now seems more frustrating because I haven’t learnt much. I’m not giving up. Someday I’ll start playing again.

  6. […] The Other Love « Getting Rid Of Boredom […]

  7. […] The Other Love « Getting Rid Of Boredom […]

  8. […] The Other Love « Getting Rid Of Boredom […]

  9. Praveena says:

    I love people who plays Guitar.I always wanted to learn Guitar.Hope it would happen in future. 🙂

  10. […] The Other Love « Getting Rid Of Boredom […]

  11. […] The Other Love « Getting Rid Of Boredom […]

Leave a Reply

