Various Faces Of Hannibal Lecter

As far as disturbing characters go, Hannibal Lecter deserves a definite spot on the Top 5.  No one can forget the face with the mesh mask over the mouth(to keep him from tearing people up with his mouth).  Silence of the lambs came out in 1991, the year I was born, and it was only in 2006 that I watched it for the first time  and absolutely loved the movie. Since then I have watched all the movies  in the series(except manhunter) and have read all the novels.

The first season of Hannibal, the new TV series, is what made me write this post.

Lecter,_Hannibal

For those of you who don’t know, Dr.Hannibal Lecter  is brilliant psychiatrist who is also a cannibalistic serial killer. He only became a main character in the novels in the third book, till then he only had a small part.

The same can’t be said for the movies. Anthony Hopkins did absolutely brilliant performance as Lecter in Silence of the lambs making sure that he became a main character from the start itself.

Remember this line from Dr.Lecter?
“A census taker once tried to test me. I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice chianti.”

In all four different actors have played the role of Dr.Lecter-
Brian Cox( Manhunter),
Anothny Hopkins(Silence of the lams, Red Dragon, Hannibal),
Gaspard Ulliel ( Hannibal Rising) and
Mads Mikkelsen ( Hannibal: TV series) .
Even though the character is the same each actor does it a little different, as expected.

Anothny Hopkins is so far the best in portraying Lecter. Mads Mikkelsen comes second as far as I can tell. He does good job of acting but his version of Lecter lacks the creepy undertone. That might be because the first season didn’t show much about Hannibal’s side of story instead focusing more on Will Graham.

The first season of the new show finished last week and I thought it was  good but the pace was a little slow . Probably a 3 out of 5 rating from my side. There isn’t that many disturbing scenes from Lecter as I thought there would be.  Even though the show is called Hannibal the part I liked the most was Hugh Dancy as Will Graham. Will wait for the second and I hope they pick up the pace.

 

6 comments on “Various Faces Of Hannibal Lecter

  1. LFFL says:

    I loved the movie with Anthony Hopkins. I thought it was so good.

  2. […] Various Faces Of Hannibal Lecter (gettingridofboredom.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Olivia says:

    Loved Silence of the Lambs! It was one of those movies that sticks with you for a while after watching. I’ve heard positive things about the tv series, I think I’ll give it a go.

Leave a Reply

