Life As A Wanderer

I like the idea of a living a nomadic life.  In-fact I  prefer it to living at one place. It would be nice to have a home base but that is not completely necessary. The picture that comes to mind when I  hear the word nomad is of camels and tents.I don’t intent on living like that. I’ll prefer some kind of lodging , nothing big just something to live in for a while.Travel

Growing up I moved around a lot. I’ve lived in five different cities in three different states and studied in six different schools. I am living in the same city for that last ten years and it’s driving me a little crazy. I can’t live anywhere for a long period of time, and by long I mean two or three years. After a while there is nothing left to see in the city, nothing new to experience.

There is a pure pleasure in exploring a new city. Seeing things for the first time, the food, the way of life, the people, the buildings and the sights. Everything about a new city is so exciting. It’s like a gift waiting to be unwrapped. You have no idea what to expect when you turn a corner.

It’s better if you can actually stay in a place for some time, say a year or two, instead of being a tourists that stays a week. As a tourist we just follow a map and flock to the sights that are known to be famous. Every city has much more to offer. Hidden gems that only those who stay long enough get to know.

I’m a light traveler. Everything I need to live can be packed in one bag. Well, if I am going to be a nomad then I guess I’ll pack two bags( a little more things if you have no home-base). I might have to leave behind all my books but I’ll switch over to kindle or something.

I hope I get to at-least travel a lot more in the future even if I don’t actually became a nomad. Just pack my bags, meet new people, enjoy new food and explore a new place.

Written as a response to Daily Prompt: Rolling Stone (If you could live a nomadic life, would you? Where would you go? How would you decide? What would life be like without a “home base”?)

P.S  The Daily Prompt for July 20th is almost the same so I’m using the same post with a little addition that’s given below.

The prompt has an another question in it – What makes a place “home” to you?

For me home is any place where I can be happy.I’m not saying I have to be happy 24/7 but if the life there is good then any place can be considered as home.

20 comments on “Life As A Wanderer

  1. I am a nomad. I’m an actor and move different places all the time. I love the traveling and getting to explore new places, but I do sometimes wish I could have a bookshelf and a dog.

    • Wow, that’s so nice. Both being an actor and the travelling part. 🙂
      We seem to be wishing for opposite things, I have a bookshelf and a pet but I really wish I could travel.

  2. […] Life As A Wanderer « Getting Rid Of Boredom […]

  3. Ugly Nikki says:

    I have been in love with the same idea all my life. I plan on going on a really long world tour once college ends,

  4. […] Life As A Wanderer « Getting Rid Of Boredom […]

  5. Sonel says:

    Sounds like fun indeed G. Guess we must have been “gypsies” or “nomads” in our past lives. Who knows? I also don’t like staying in one place for too long. Hubby and I would love to have our own motorhome and just travel from coast to coast. Great post and well written as usual. 😀

    • We probably were. I think I still dress a little like one.;)
      I’m not really a fan of motorhomes, I have a problem with small spaces but it would be great to travel coast to coast. Thanks for reading. 🙂

      • Sonel says:

        Oh, I am not a fan of small spaces as well, that is why I want to be a millionaire when I do buy the motorhome…so I can just park it wherever and go and sleep in a hotel. LOL! I won’t do living in one but it would be nice to travel in a home-like environment during the day. 😀

      • Yeah, that’s a good idea. More comfort while travelling and a luxurious hotel room to enjoy the stay at the destination.:)

      • Sonel says:

        Absolutely! 😀

  6. […] Life As A Wanderer « Getting Rid Of Boredom […]

  7. […] Life As A Wanderer « Getting Rid Of Boredom […]

  8. […] Life As A Wanderer (gettingridofboredom.wordpress.com) […]

  9. […] Life As A Wanderer « Getting Rid Of Boredom […]

  10. […] Life As A Wanderer « Getting Rid Of Boredom […]

  11. […] Life As A Wanderer (gettingridofboredom.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

