Barter

Today’s prompt reminds of when we were kids. We used to exchange collectibles hoping to complete our collections. Those who had the prized and rare ones usually got a better deal when it came to exchanges.

Then we grew up and now we exchange our life and soul for the money paid by the corporate world. Unfortunately since money is involved this doesn’t fall under the gamut of Barter. But in a way it still is a barter isn’t it?  The word barter brings up the picture in our minds of dusty markets where people buy things in exchange of goats and chickens. Seeing most of us don’t actually have those we might have to come up with new items for trade. Maybe offer up laptops and iPods, or designer labels and accessories  in exchange. Not such a good picture to think of.

The prompt asks if the world worked on a barter system how I would fair. My answer- not that good. I don’t have anything to give in exchange. Unless they’ll take books, if they do then I can live comfortably for a few years. After that I have no idea what I’ll do, may be I’ll write for exchange or take photographs. I really don’t think I have anything else to give  unless I learn something new.

After considering the alternative being a worker bee in the huge corporate hive doesn’t look that bad. I was a good employee when I had a job. Hopefully someday soon I’ll find another office to be part of.

Written as a response to the Daily Prompt : Barter System.

12 comments on “Barter

  1. […] Barter « Getting Rid Of Boredom […]

  2. rarasaur says:

    I also favor the worker bee scenario. 😀

  3. Sonel says:

    Great post G! Same here. Being a housewife I don’t have much to exchange either, unless they want me to cook and clean for them…LOL!

Leave a Reply

